New release: Fabio Orsi – Stand Before me, Oh my Soul

 

Fabio Orsi: Stand Before me, Oh my Soul
Preservation: 2011

If, like me, you were disappointed with Fabio’s 2010 triple disc release Random Shades of Day than I can reassure you he’s back in form with Stand Before me, Oh my Soul.

The Italian maestro uses his trusty guitar and FX rack as the basis for a range of drones and echoing melodies, garnished with some fantastic drum samples and synthesised bass. The entire record has a very live feel about it, particularly the drums which although sampled are damaged with reverb and delay to create a haunting atmosphere. Flange FX are put to intense use on nearly every track which paints a dreamy ambience. Icy melodies ring out from the haze, fingers scrape up and down electrified guitar strings and echo out into the nothingness; everything’s bliss.

Papa, Show me your Blues LPs fades into being with a cloud of hiss and static that mutates into a fuzzy jazz break wrapped around discordant horns and droning guitars. Eventually the harmony is shattered by a collision of cymbals and buzz that fades into Full Metal Flat where an icy drone builds into a bass heavy, rhythmic jam.

When Fabio (I love writing that name) is on, he’s fucking on. Stand Before me, Oh my Soul succeeds over the Random Shades of Day mess largely because of the drums, which provide a solid hook for his six-stringed sonics. If you dig this, I’d highly recommend you check out his 2009 collaboration Thoughts Melt in the Air as well.

Leave a Reply

